Wendy Sharpe Erksineville Train Station
Wendy Sharpe, Erskineville Train Station, 2018 oil on canvas, 145 x 182 cm. Winner Calleen Art Award 2019.

15 December 2019 to 2 February 2020

The Calleen Collection comprises the winning works of the acquisitive Calleen Art Award, established in 1977 by Cowra arts patron and collector, Mrs. Patricia Fagan, OAM. Each year since the inaugural exhibition, the Calleen Art Award has grown in significance as an acquisitive art prize and is now valued at $20,000. This has ensured that the Calleen Collection housed at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery is worthy of the broad spectrum of other collections of Australian art in regional public galleries across NSW.

The works in the Calleen Collection are as wide-ranging and varied, as the artists who created them. Previous winning artists of the Calleen Art Award and represented in the Calleen Collection include Mandy Martin, Greg Daly, Claire Martin, Rowen Matthews, Meg Buchanan, David Fairbairn, Yvonne Boag, Peter Gardiner, Wendy Sharpe, Naomi White, G. W. Bot, Gladdy Kemarre and Zai Kuang, to name a few.