The Cowra Regional Art Gallery is pleased to announce the CALLEEN ART AWARD 2020 acquisitive prize for painting exhibition of finalists will take place from 4 October to 15 November 2020.

The Calleen Art Award is an acquisitive art prize that encourages originality and artistic merit, established in 1977 by Mrs Patricia Fagan OAM. The winning artwork will become part of the splendid Calleen Collection – the foundation collection of the Cowra Regional Art Gallery.

The Calleen Art Award is open to original paintings in any style or subject and for adjudication purposes using any traditional painting medium, such as acrylic, oil or watercolour (other traditional “mixed media” may be used to a lesser extent).

Calleen Art Award finalists are selected by a panel of art professionals. The winner of the Calleen Art Award 2020 is selected by the Award Judge, Mr Steven Alderton, Director and CEO, National Art School from the award finalists, and will receive $20,000 in prize money made possible by the Calleen Trust. The announcement of the winner is to occur at the official opening (subject to changing Covid-19 regulations), on Saturday 3 October 2020.

People’s Choice Award

The 2020 People’s Choice Award (non-acquisitive) is $1,000 in prize money, courtesy of the Friends of the Gallery and announced at the end of the Calleen Art Award exhibition.

Key dates

  • Entries closed: 22 July 2020, 11.59PM (AEDT)
  • Official opening (exhibition preview): Saturday, 3 October 2020
  • Winner announced: Saturday, 3 October 2020
  • Exhibition dates: 4 October–15 November 2020

2020 Finalists

Catherine Abel

Suzanne Archer

Peter Boggs

Alexander Boynes

Kate Briscoe

Sally Browne

Carol Christie

Inel Date

Mark Dober

Kate Dorrough

Rachel Ellis

David Fairbairn

David Fenoglio

Keith Fyfe

Joanna Gambotto

Samir Hamaiel

Ildiko Hammond

Craig Handley

Geoffrey Harvey

Mark Hetherington

Megan Jones

Robyn Kinsela

Dan Kyle

Waratah Lahy

Nadège Lamy

Peter Larsen

Nerissa Lea

Steve Lopes

Deborah Marks

Nic Mason

Kiata Mason

Kerry McCarthy Madawyn

Helen McCarthy Tyalmuty

Amanda Penrose Hart

Melitta Perry

Hal Pratt

Glen Preece

Melissa Ritchie

Sally Ryan

Peta-Jayne Smith

Hiromi Tango

Mary Tonkin

Jane Tonks

Zena Vix

Sarah Waghorn

Lynne Wallis

Helene Weeding

Barbara Weir

Polly Wells

Simone Wise

Lisa Woolfe

Zoe Young