← Back to Calleen Collecton


Winner of the 2017 Calleen Art Award – Zai Kuang, Audery, 2017, oil on canvas, 180 x 90cm

The exhibition opening and announcement of the 2017 Calleen Art Award winner took place at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery on Saturday night 6 May 2017 from 6pm, with over 120 visitors including many of the finalists.

The exhibition was opened by Cr Judi Smith, Deputy Mayor, Cowra Shire Council and the Calleen Art Award winner was announced by the Awards Judge, Mr Angus Trumble, Director, National Portrait Gallery.

The winner of the 2017 Callen Art Award is Zai Kuang from Melbourne for his work titled Audery oil on canvas 102 x 84cm. Artists statement “My paintings are about children and daily life. I want to explore the relationships between children and their surroundings and the objects in the domestic environment” (except from the exhibition statement).

During the evening guests were treated to the presentation of delightful music by an ensemble of young musicians from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music

The exhibition continues to 18 June 2017.

For more information Tel: 6340 2190. The Gallery is located at 77 Darling Street, Cowra and open from Tues–Sat, 10am–4pm and Sun 2pm–4pm. Admission is free.

The Calleen Art Award

The Calleen Art Award encourages originality, creativity and artistic excellence. The Calleen Art Award is an acquisitive national painting prize in any subject and style established in 1977 by Patricia Fagan OAM. The winner of the 2017 Calleen Art Award will receive $20,000 in prize money made possible by the generous support of the Calleen Trust and the winning work will become part of the Calleen Collection at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery. The Awards Judge for 2017 is Angus Trumble, Director, National Portrait Gallery.

2017 marks the 40 year anniversary for the Calleen Art Award and during the past ten years it has developed a unique reputation as a major art prize in regional New South Wales. Previous winners include Tania Mason (2016), Yvonne Boag (2015), Naomi White (2014), Gladdy Kemarre (2013), G.W.Bot (2012), Peter Gardiner (2011), Claire Martin (2010) and Rowan Mathews (2009).

Entries closed on 3 March 2017.

People’s Choice Award

A People’s Choice Award (non-acquisitive) is awarded at the end of the exhibition. The winner will receive $500.

Key dates

  • Entries closed Friday 3 March 2017
  • Announcement of Finalists Late March 2017 (website)
  • Delivery of Finalist’s work See Clause 18 in form
  • Opening and Awards Presentation Saturday 6 May 2017
  • Exhibition dates Sunday 7 May–Sunday 19 June 2017