Entries for 2018 have closed

The Calleen Art Award is an acquisitive painting prize established in 1977 by Mrs Patricia Fagan OAM. Always popular with the local community and visitors to Cowra the Calleen Art Award has advanced significantly and through the generosity of the Calleen Trust is now worth $20,000. There is also a People’s Choice Award which is non-acquisitive and worth $500 in prize money.

This year 205 entries were received by the Gallery from across Australia and 46 works consisting of an engaging range of styles as well as themes and subjects have been selected as finalists by a panel of art professionals.

Previous winners include Zai Kuang (2017), Tania Mason (2016), Yvonne Boag (2015), Naomi White (2014), Gladdy Kemarre (2013), G.W.Bot (2012), Peter Gardiner (2011), Claire Martin (2010) and Rowan Mathews (2009).

The 2018 Calleen Art Award opening night on Saturday 5 May promises to be a memorable and enjoyable Gallery event. For more information about the Calleen Art Award opening and announcement of the Callen Art Award for 2018 winner stay in touch through the Gallery facebook.

The list of 2018 finalists are:

  • Xiao Bai
  • Susan Baird
  • Michael Bell
  • Kate Briscoe
  • Annabel Butler
  • Daniel Butterworth
  • Jemma Calavassy
  • Jane Canfield
  • David Collins
  • Peter Cook
  • Kathryn Cowen
  • Dagmar Cyrulla
  • Tracy Dods
  • Bridget Dolan
  • Kate Dorrough
  • John Downton
  • Shannon Doyle
  • Graeme Drendel
  • Ashley Frost
  • Keith Fyfe
  • Craig Handley
  • Rachel Hannan
  • Samir Hamaiel
  • Hope Hardy
  • Geoff Harvey
  • Vicki Hersey
  • Kerry Johns
  • Val Johnson
  • Col Jordan
  • Hui (Kathy) Liu
  • Steve Lopes
  • Robert Malherbe
  • Nic Mason
  • Rowen Matthews
  • Kerry McInnis
  • Paul McKnight
  • Wayne Miles
  • Annabel Nowlan
  • Hal Pratt
  • Claire Primrose
  • Petra Reece
  • Brian Robinson
  • Brenda Runnegar
  • Stuart Smith
  • Sally Stokes
  • Zoe Young

The announcement of the 2018 Calleen Art Award winner will be made at the Official Opening of the finalist’s exhibition on Saturday 5 May 2018. The exhibition will continue to 10 June 2018.

Key dates

  • Entries closed Friday 2 March 2018
  • Opening and Awards Presentation Saturday 5 May 2018
  • Exhibition dates Sunday 6 May–Sunday 10 June 2018


  • The Calleen Art Award is open to persons over 18 years, living and professionally based in Australia.
  • Eligible entries must be a painting (in any style and subject) wholly executed using a painting medium (oil, acrylic, watercolour) and no greater than 2 x 2 metres or equivalent size/area ratio – including a diptych or triptych. A painting must be designed to hang on or be fixed to a wall (see Finalists’ Information for more details). All other media are ineligible.
  • Only a painting that is the original work and concept of the artist and completed since 1 January 2017 will be considered. All paintings submitted must be available for sale in the exhibition and must not be owned by a third party.
  • A painting entered into the Calleen Art Award must not have been shown previously in any other art prize/competition in the Central West Region of NSW.
  • The painting awarded the 2018 Calleen Art Award will automatically become part of the Calleen Collection upon payment of the prize money to the winning entrant.
  • By entering a painting into the Calleen Art Award the artist warrants that said painting does not infringe copyright, moral rights or other rights of a third party.
  • Awards of cash prizes are deemed inclusive of any requisite GST amount. The Gallery reserves the right to reject an entry where insufficient GST information is given.

An artist or their authorised sole agent or commercial gallery may enter up to three (3) paintings in total for consideration. Each painting entered must be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of $33.00 (including GST) together with the support material and the Calleen Art Award entry form signed by the Artist. A painting entered for selection without the correct payment (including correct credit card information if relevant) will not be considered eligible Artists or their authorised sole agent or commercial gallery are liable for all GST payable costs including fees, support material, postage, insurance and freight as required.

For more information see the 2018 Entry Form (link below) or contact the Cowra Regional Art Gallery on (02) 6340 2190. If you have trouble downloading the Entry form send an email to blanger@cowra.nsw.gov.au

Entry Form